Setting up multiple users in OS X

You can set up multiple users in OS X by choosing System Preferences from the Apple menu. Click the Accounts icon. You can get help with this window by choosing a topic from the Help menu when System Preferences is the front-most application. Some things to consider:

  • You must have more than one OS X user account to use Downtime. The first user account is always an administrative user and Downtime will not create any restrictions for an administrative user.
  • For any user that you want to restrict in Downtime, you must not check the box to Allow User to Administer this Computer. Users with administrative privileges can unlock the Downtime application and disable it from the terminal, so only non-admin users can be restricted. More about security.
  • You should not configure your Mac to automatically log in a particular user when the computer starts up. The Mac should go to the login window when starting up. You can turn off auto-login in the Accounts pane of the System Preferences window.
  • Downtime does work with Panther's fast user switching feature. However, when Downtime logs out a restricted user, the user is truly logged out, not switched out. The user's documents and applications are all closed. If the user has any unsaved changes, the changes will be lost when the user is logged out.